Scottish Borders UK

Unitary authority in southeastern Scotland, bordering England. Consists of former counties of Berwick, Peebles, Selkirk, Roxburgh and small portion of former Midlothian county; divided into districts of Tweedale, Ettrick, Lauderdale, Roxburgh, and Berwickshire; economy based on agriculture and textile production. Borders was renamed Scottish Borders in 1996; the boundaries of the two are identical. Newtown St. Boswells is the administrative center.

Quick Facts on Scottish Borders

Go Historic ID
Scottish Borders