Text courtesy of Historic England. © Crown Copyright, reprinted under the Open Government License.
TQ 2679 SE TQ 2779 SW CROMWELL ROAD SW7 39/5 40/5 Victoria and Albert 15.4.69 Museum
Museum. 1860 by Sir Henry Cole and Captain Fowke. Unique facades of the quadrangle form the heart of the Museum. Terra-cotta decorations by Godfrey Sykes and mosaics by Townroe. West side 1861-63. North side 1864-68. On ground floor are the old Refreshment Rooms built by 1867, consisting of the central Refreshment Room decorated by Sykes and Gamble, the Green Dining Room decorated by William Morris, and the Grill Room designed in 1869 by D J Poynter and completed in 1874. Also the staircase leading up to first floor, designed by F W Moody with a mosaic portrait of Henry Cole 1868-76. On first floor the old Ceramic Gallery completed about 1868 with elaborate decoration including ceramic-faced columns by Minton. (Dismantled 1914). East side completed by late 1890's and connected up with south side which is the library side and built in 1884. The south courts of iron construction were built in 1862... read more