Second-level Administrative Subdivisions Places

filter by keyword(s)
Page 1 of 298
England, UK

Area covers most of Thames Valley; contains many Paleolithic and Neolithic artifacts; part of Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Wessex and Mercia; ruled by Danes 10th-11th centuries; site of battles during English Civil War; area includes a portion of Berkshire since 1974.

Scottish Borders

Unitary authority in southeastern Scotland, bordering England. Consists of former counties of Berwick, Peebles, Selkirk, Roxburgh and small portion of former Midlothian county; divided into districts of Tweedale, Ettrick, Lauderdale, Roxburgh, and Berwickshire; economy based on agriculture and textile production. Borders was renamed Scottish Borders in 1996; the boundaries of the two are identical. Newtown St. Boswells is the administrative center.

England, UK

Comprises low ridges, plains and former islands; crossed by rivers Nene and the Great Ouse; noted for archaeological sites (prehistoric tracks), Saxon churches and the university buildings of Cambridge; produces beets, potatoes, and fruit for canning.

England, UK

Most remote of country's counties, it remained Celtic and Cornish language was spoken until late 19th century; inhabited since prehistoric times and important for tin, clay, and granite; an earldom under William the Conqueror 1066; it is the oldest duchy in England, created by Edward III in 1337 for his eldest son, Edward the Black Prince.